Move Like a Links

Only one link, really, today. But the pun doesn’t work with the singular form. And we must all suffer for our art.

There was a recent article in Stuff, written by an SMBC about choosing a donor. The article itself was interesting, if not particularly relevant for NZ (she was Australian, and it sounds like they get a lot more choice over there).

But the comments section was full of nastiness. Obviously this is the minority of people – the ones who feel so strongly about something that they have to make a song and dance about it. But reading comments like that is one reason why I am keeping this blog anonymous, and not telling random friends about it – at the moment, the people I know  are divided into (1) those who know what I am doing and know it is me writing this blog (family, some friends), (2) those who know what I am doing (or that it was a plan of mine) but have no idea I am writing a blog about it (some friends), and (3) [the vast majority] who have no idea what I am doing.

I really don’t think anyone I know would actually be as nasty/judgmental as those comments (and others from other articles), but I just don’t want to take that chance at this point. My plan is to tell people how my pregnancy came about when I am actually telling people that I am pregnant. I will be very open then – I just don’t want to risk it quite yet.

Leave a Reply

