While I Wait

Still two days before my pregnancy blood test, so here are some links I came across over the last while that I thought were worth sharing.

  • A story about working women and miscarriage, and not even telling anyone you are pregnant, let alone that you have miscarried…

While privately mourning, she endured harsh speculation about her childlessness; the assumption being, as she later said on BBC Radio 4’s Desert Island Discs, “that I have made a cold, calculated decision to put my career ahead of having a family”.

  • I read this article way back when it was first published (or thereabouts), and the fact that most of our pregnancy stats come from the 1600-1800s blew me away. It did make me feel a little better about waiting so long before starting on my own. Of course, since then, I have read the stats from FA, and they are a little more pessimistic than this article makes it sound, but it was still very interesting.

The widely cited statistic that one in three women ages 35 to 39 will not be pregnant after a year of trying, for instance, is based on an article published in 2004 in the journal Human Reproduction. Rarely mentioned is the source of the data: French birth records from 1670 to 1830. The chance of remaining childless—30 percent—was also calculated based on historical populations.

  • This was an article I found recently about an SMBC who had twins. Just nice to read another personal story – especially one that worked out positively (I am so scared that I won’t be able to have kids – especially as this time doesn’t look as though it has worked either [I am currently spotting]). I think the extra help she talks about might just be cos she has twins, but worth checking out… She also has a handy list of suggestions if you do have multiples

They also put me in touch with Parent Aid, a free service to families that need a little extra help. Every week someone visits for a couple of hours and takes care of the vacuuming, helps get the washing up to date and helps out with the babies. I made use of this service for a couple of months – it was a great help and I really enjoyed the company. There are also services like Bellyful that again is a free service delivering meals.

  • This article bugged me a bit. Mainly because it was on an NZ site but it was copied from a British article – which is fine in theory, but there was a specific statement about eating soft-boiled eggs that could be misleading, as it says that specific British eggs are generally safe from salmonella, but doesn’t mention NZ ones (of course, as it is a British article). Stuff should have had a disclaimer at the top saying that British and NZ foods may differ, and that NZers should check our local guidelines – or, even better, add the local NZ guidelines. BUT there is still some interesting stuff in the article.

At five months, a foetus begins to recognise flavours in the amniotic fluid from the food and drink their mother is consuming. Scientists now believe that the tastes that babies are exposed to in the womb can determine the foods they prefer in later life. In one study, women who drank carrot juice during the last trimester had babies who responded more positively to carrot flavours during weaning. Conversely, animal studies suggest that mothers who eat junk food – fatty, sugary, processed foods and drinks – during pregnancy and breastfeeding have children who prefer these foods.

Leave a Reply

